Skip to content ↓


Waterstones Children’s Book Prize 2018-


Overall Winner: The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas
Waterstones writes:
It’s our absolute pleasure to announce Angie Thomas’s The Hate U Give as the winner of our Waterstones Children’s Book Prize 2018. Voted by our booksellers, our annual prize for children’s writing and illustration is very much an award decided by readers for readers, seeking out the mega-stars of the future.
Written in the turbulent wake of police violence in North America, The Hate U Give revolves around Starr Carter, a teenager whose life is split between the affluent school she attends and the much poorer suburb that is her home. Her best friend’s fatal shooting by a police officer abruptly brings those two worlds together, compelling Starr to defend her friend’s memory and force the media to understand the truth behind the tragedy. Wearing a serious message with wit, life and charm, The Hate U Give is an immediate 21st century classic: a book for all.
"The Hate U Give should have a readership far beyond a core audience of young adults. Ours is a children’s prize, but there is no upper age limit to being stunned by beautiful writing of this visceral power."
James Daunt, Waterstones Managing Director.
Please click here to see the Older and younger Fiction Shortlists: